Which word processor to use?

Questions, answers and suggestions about the forum
Forum rules
Posts in this section are visible to everyone on the internet. If you want more privacy, use the 'Members Only' section instead.
Dennyvm

Which word processor to use?

Postby Dennyvm » Sat, 16 May 2015 12:50 pm

Greetings Folks,
I'm a newbie to this forum. Currently my wife and are touring the great highways and byways of Eastern Australia. Been on the road for around two months and having a ball. Now I've been recording our adventures in Word, but you get to a certain point when the photo's you post won't stay still and it becomes frustrating and extra slow. I switched to Publisher. That seemed much better, at least the photos stuck where you wanted them to be stuck. But as the story grows, the slower the program seems to come. Maybe it's the size of the photos I've downloaded from my camera.

My question is - Are there any alternatives to Word or Publisher? Free and easily accessible and can handle large photos and can be saved and printed off later?

Many thanks

Dennyvm

Peter McLennan
Site Admin

Re: Which word processor to use?

Postby Peter McLennan » Sat, 16 May 2015 2:34 pm

Welcome Denny. Word is the standard choice for submitting to publishers, but you're right that it's cantankerous with pictures. Reducing the pixel density of the pictures would certainly help with speed, but then they won't print out or display as nicely.

There are definitely free alternatives to the Microsoft stuff. One of the most prolific writers here relies on one such (but I forget which one). Off the top of my head, you could look into Apache Open Office, LibreOffice and NeoOffice (all of which share a common origin, I think). I've also used TextMaker and found it to be very good.
Peter McLennan
Board Administrator
AmazonSmashwordsWeb Site

Rath Darkblade

Postby Rath Darkblade » Sat, 16 May 2015 6:15 pm